Summer 2009: Time and Books

When I started working this summer, I discovered three things, with varying levels of surprise:

  1. I had significantly less free time than I had envisioned. Buying groceries and cooking takes a lot more time than I thought!
  2. I was significantly more productive than I had envisioned. Having less time necessitated making it more structured and more efficient.
  3. I ended up getting more done even though I had less time to do it.

I would cook, read books, go to the gym, and do a little side programming during the week, and on the weekend I’d visit my parents (and usually mow their lawn for them). At school, I had three or four times as much free time (at least!), but I didn’t get as much done in a concrete sense. I spent much more time browsing proggit and Google Reader. Not time wasted, per se, but on the whole I was not as productive as I was under greater restrictions.

Books I read this summer:

  • Confessions of an Economic Hit Man
  • Life in Double Time
  • All seven Harry Potter books, including the sixth consumed in one glorious day at the beach
  • Types and Programming Languages (casually, at least)
  • A Thousand Splendid Suns
  • One Hundred Years of Solitude
  • and I’ve started reading more:
    • The Gold Bug Variations
    • Advanced Types and Programming Languages
    • Masterminds of Programming
    • Design Concepts in Programming Languages
    • Refactoring

Even conservatively counting the first three books of Harry Potter as one, that’s still ten books finished and five more started in the last three months. Much better than the, um, one or two that I probably read during the last semester of my undergrad program.

2 thoughts on “Summer 2009: Time and Books

    • Rather like The Kite Runner, in that it’s incredibly well-written but also slightly disturbing, in a highbrow way. I’d recommend it, but be prepared to be sadder while (and after) reading it than you were before you started.

Leave a Reply

