This is actually amusing

Meme:

  1. Grab the nearest book.
  2. Open the book to page 123.
  3. Find the fifth sentence.
  4. Post the text of the sentence in your journal along with these instructions.
  5. Don’t search around and look for the “coolest” book you can find. Do what’s actually next to you.

Following the above instructions produced this:

“So don’t panic — help is on the way!”

This was actually from the book “Java and XML” (about construction/serialization of a DOM from raw XML), which is what my hand happened to fall on when I blindly reached to my right to select a book from the shelf next to my computer. The looking around, the closest book would have to be either Gulliver’s Travels (the subject of my term paper for English) or Dr. Seuss & Roy McKie’s My Book About Me, which, along with three clay bricks (four if you count Robert Jordan’s Crossroads of Twilight) and two Animorphs books, raises my primary 19″ CRT to an ergonomically-correct eye level.

Gulliver’s Travels gives a pretty good result, too: After giving the Brobdingnagian King a rather grim account of human history, the King tells Gulliver that

“But, by what I have gathered from your own Relation, and the Answers I have with much Pains wringed and extorted from you, I cannot but conclude the Bulk of your Natives, to be the most pernicious Race of little odious Vermin that Nature ever suffered to crawl upon the Surface of the Earth.”

Leave a Reply

