MAXIM um Physics

Before I forget, I wanted to record this:

It would be fair to call me a technophile. The only magazines I regularly read are MIT’s Technology Review, Scientific American, Popular Science, and Discover. A little data mining ought to reveal the hidden thread tying those journals together.

A week or so back, I brought in the latest Tech Review and Popular Science editions to school, since I knew I’d have nothing else to do during study hall. Usually I’d either read the newspapers — local paper (The News Journal) for the comics and local news, New York Times for, well, everything else, but that day I just felt like something different.

In any case, when Physics class rolled around, one of the other students claimed to be bored and, since this was an AP Phyics class, I offered to let him read my magazines. Now, I honestly don’t remember the exact turn of events that led to the end result, but somehow… well, two of the other kids (including the one I offered the rags to) got a notion in their head to use the literal interpretation of “technophilia.”

Here’s the amusing part: today, the same two students presented me with an issue of Maxim magazine and two sticks of beef jerky. I was actually fairly unimpressed with Maxim, since it’s essentially a week from the three-months-back Fark archives. Heck, even the book I’m currently reading (Dhalgren, recommended from some k5 thread) is more explicit than the spreads in Maxim. They did have a few vaguely interesting (though brief; surprise, surprise) articles on the new Seawolf-class submarines and some daredevil. No specifics, since the magazine ended up going home with one of the other boys in the class, and the beef jerky went to the teacher. An amusing hack, but still a waste of money.

More on Dhalgren later…

Leave a Reply

